Chrysler struggles and sucks the life out of the battery

Chrysler Lebaron

Cranks slow won’t start. Battery and starter both tested good. Cleaned all connections, from battery/starter/grounds. Car spins over fine with ratchet on crankshaft pulley ,but when I try to start it ,seems like it struggles and sucks the life out of the battery. Checked the timing ,it is right. Checked fuses and relays all good and/ or replaced. Car gets fuel and spark. I’m not a mechanic I’ve just exhausted all my other options, any help would be very much appreciated. It is a 93 Chrysler Lebaron / convertible,sedan. 3.0v6. Let me know if you have any questions. Thanks

Steven

Hello Steven, Let me start off with my initial thought. Replace the Battery. The number one reason for a no start condition is the battery. Yes, I did hear you say the battery tested good. So allow me this opportunity to tell you I have seen and tested many batteries that were in fact bad. An irrefutable test would be to start with a NEW, fully charged battery. It shouldn’t struggle to spin the engine and certainly shouldn’t drain the life out of the battery unless the battery is in fact weak/bad.

Based on what you have stated that the timing is right and it is getting spark and fuel. The only thing left would be compression and that generally doesn’t happen in two seconds on all four cylinders at the same time. Now when you say it is getting fuel I am assuming you mean the fuel injector is spraying fuel and not just that it has fuel pressure. Have you tried spraying starting fluid in it while cranking the engine?

4 thoughts on “Chrysler struggles and sucks the life out of the battery”